Manistee County Michigan Sheriff's Department

Sunday,November�19th,�2017�4:30:pm
PISTOL REGISTRATION INFORMATION E-mail

You must be 18 years of age to legally obtain (purchase or inherit) a pistol from a private individual and 21 years of age to purchase from a Federal Firearms Dealer. You will be disqualified if you are currently on probation or parole, have any pending criminal cases or old cases without court dispositions, any felony conviction or certain misdemeanor convictions, have been found mentally incompetent, participate in any medical marihuana program or meet any other State or Federal disqualifier. You will also not be eligible if there are currently any active Personal Protection Orders against you in Manistee County or any other county.You must also possess a valid Michigan Drivers License or State Identification card with your current address.


Pistol purchases without a valid Concealed Pistol License

A License to Purchase is only good for a pistol purchase between two private individuals who do not posses Concealed Pistol Licenses. If you are planning to purchase a pistol from a Federal Firearms Dealer, the dealer will issue the License to Purchase paperwork.

To apply for a license to purchase, you will need to come to the Sheriff’s Office Monday thru Friday, 8am to 4pm, and complete the following steps:
- Complete the License to Purchase basic questionnaire
- Pass background / criminal history check.
- Sign the License to Purchase with the notary present.

The process usually takes about 15 minutes to complete and a notary will be available at no cost to you. Purchase Permits are valid for 30 days from the date of issue. You will have 10 days from the date of purchase to return the completed “MSP Copy” to the Sheriff’s Office either by dropping it off or mailing it to:
Manistee Counry Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Pistol Records
1525 E. Parkdale Ave.
Manistee MI 49660


Pistol Purchases with a valid Concealed Pistol License

A purchase permit is not required if you have a valid Concealed Pistol License.

A Pistol Sales Record is required by law. This consists of a four part form; a copy for the  seller, purchaser, agency and MSP. The completed Agency and MSP copies must be submitted to MCSO within 10 days of the date of purchase. The four part form can be completed online and printed at the Michigan State Police website. (Form RI-60). www.michigan.gov/doccuments/ri-060_6454_7.pdf

You are no longer required to bring the pistol to the Sheriff’s Office for the registration with either type of purchase.

If you are interested in obtaining a Concealed Pistol License please contact the Manistee County Clerks Office at 231-723-3331.

 

 

 

 

Last Updated on Friday, 24 January 2014 13:42
 

Manistee County Sheriff's Office
1525 E. Parkdale Ave
Manistee, Michigan 49660

Non Emergency Calls Only: (231) 723-8393